The Dark Knight

I didn’t have a chance to see “The Dark Knight” in theaters.  Last night, I bought a copy of the DVD (you’ve got to love those first week DVD sales!).  I really wanted to see it, but, I didn’t have the money to buy it earlier in the week.  Luckily, thanks to some early birthday and Christmas money, I finally did.

As far as the movie goes?  I loved it.  Absolutely the best Batman movie out there, hands down.  From the opening bank robbery to the ending scenes, I was riveted.  Though, I did stop the movie about halfway, to come upstairs to watch it, I couldn’t really look away.

As much as I like Christian Bale as Batman, Heath Ledger’s portrayal of the Joker was the best character in the movie.  As my sister said to me, so I say:  You cannot see a trace of Ledger in the character.  He is purely Joker.  Insane and frightening.  Just as he should be.

Maggie Gyllenhal being cast into Katie Holmes’ role was a decent choice as she filled in pretty well.  The other character in the movie I was enamored with, though, was Harvet Dent.  Aaron Eckhart played the part rather well.  Dent’s white knight, the savior of Gotham (even with Batman around) was charismatic, as any good politician should be.

The one thing that I really disliked about the movie was the death of Two-Face!  He would have been a great villain if a third movie is to be made.    I would have liked to see him at odds with Commissioner Gordon  in another film.  More than what was seen in the film, I mean.  I guess we’ll just have to see what there is in store.  If they do a third movie, that is.

2 Responses to The Dark Knight

  1. ddemoura says:

    Yes, Ledger was spectacular. Before filming, Heath said he was going to portray this character based on Alex from “A Clockwork Orange.” Although Alex was more gentlemanly in his own horrific way, his intelligent, psychotic, criminal mind was a great foundation for establishing the motives behind the Joker. Heath Ledger’s Joker made Jack Nicholson’s version seem kind of tame. Although it would have been awesome to see both versions go head to head in a fight…
    hhhmmmmmm… 😉

  2. jwlashline says:

    Ledger’s Joker did make Nicholson’s seen very tame. I wish they would have done more with Eckheart and Two-Face. He’s an interesting villain!

Leave a Reply

