On cooking

I am not really a cook.  Not by any means.  I do, however, enjoy spending time in the kitchen.  I am usually delegated the task of chopping up vegetables or cheese or whatever have you.  Believe it or not, I enjoy doing these things.  I don’t really know what that says about me, but, it’s fun.  Being there in the kitchen, singing along–there is always music playing in our kitchen when we are cooking, or just chatting.

And while I am not a cook, I do like to make things.  As long as there isn’t any raw meat preparation involved.  I make fresh items like salsas, guacamole and tomato bruschetta.  All of these, though, are things we only have rarely, so I don’t get a chance to make them often.  Not to mention that the ingredients for guacamole can be a little on the expensive side.  Mostly the avocados.

Last night I got to make bruschetta.  Actually, this was on the insistance of my sister.  I hadn’t made it since last year, so it was a good time.  We planned a meal around it that included cheese ravioli (frozen, but, I do want to learn to make pasta!!),  the bruschetta, and some fried aubergine (though the store’s aubergine selection was not good, so we went without that).

It all turned out rather well.  Barring that we had to go to get a new baguette–the one we bought a couple days ago was just too hard to do anything with.  Come today, there were leftovers.  All this is really the reason I wrote this blog.  Yes.  That’s right!  I am going to share a recipe.  I probably shouldn’t have written a whole spiel.  I should’ve gotten right to the point.

Anyway, this is a recipe for the delicious leftovers I made for today’s lunch.  And I guess it’s a recipe for the tomato bruschetta topping I make, as well, since that took part in today’s lunch.  Anyway, here it is.

Browned ravioli with aromatics

12 Ravioli (I used cheese, and they are the small ones, hence the amount)

Olive oil

Parmesan cheese (to taste)

Tomato Bruschetta

[-4 roma tomatoes]

[-4 cloves of garlic]

[-1/2 red onion]

[-olive oil (as needed for liquid)]

[-cilantro (to taste–I use it for the brightness, most bruschetta recipes use basil)]

[-salt and pepper (to taste)]

[-roughly chop and mix all the above ingredients in a bow, and add olive oil to make is as sauce-like as you want]

Heat some olive oil in a skillet on about medium.  When oil is hot, place ravioli in the pan.  Allow both sides of the ravioli to brown.  When both sides have browned to your liking, add the tomato brushetta topping and warm through.  Add Parmesan cheese on top after you plate it.

I got the idea to make this when I saw that there were going to be quite an amount of leftovers.  The freshness of the topping goes well with the mild flavors of the cheese ravioli.  It not quite a sauce, but, it works rather well.

2 Responses to On cooking

  1. ddemoura says:

    JOHN! You are back!
    Last I checked, you were no longer online, shortly afterwards, I started having issues with my system and lost all my favorites, web history, and had to sacrafice all sorts of apps to try to get my laptop going again. I lost my emails and struggled with outlook for weeks until I could get all my passwords reset (I could no longer remember most of them).Eventually, I deleted Norton AV and that actually fixed my prob. I hate Norton, it absconded 20.2G of my hard drive and I only realized it when I deleted the app. I now run my AV off my server.
    Anyway, good to see your posts!
    Talk soon…
    I guess this was a bit off topic soooooo…
    First bruschetta I ever tried was on a blind date in NYC. Loved it. I’ll have to try your recipe.

    • jwlashline says:

      Dan! I am so glad to “hear” from you again! I was worried when I didn’t get any replies. Then I really couldn’t check, or anything, unless I was at my mom’s. And I never really saw you at the store, so I didn’t know what to think about that. e-mail me, and we can catch up!

Leave a Reply

