Mourning in the digital age–A Farker’s Farewell

Today I got some sad news.  A friend of mine who I met through Fark.com, as a TotalFarker, passed away yesterday in an automobile accident.  Obviously someone should mourn the passing of someone they knew and liked.  And I am doing so.

My issue with the whole thing is, how do you mourn someone you really didn’t know/never met physically?  I don’t want to do something…inadequate.  To me, writing this is helping me, by making me think of some of the many hilarious conversations we’ve had.

It also makes me feel a bit selfish, though.

I guess I will just say my piece about Thai, and leave it at that.

Thai Williams, known to me and others as his TotalFark handle Arelas, was someone that I talked with on a daily basis for an entire year’s time.  Now that I think back on it, he helped me feel comfortable at a job I didn’t really enjoy.

He didn’t do anything in particular, but, he was just there to talk to.  And that did help me trudge through.  I remember passing a day making a banner for a fictional Presidential Election in which Thai was named President.

arelaszo0

It reads: “Vote Arelas for President in 2008.  The candidate with a vision (and the meds to clear it, eventually!).  I was known as Thai’s vice-president in those days.  It’s a position I will always cherish, since he kindly bestowed it upon me.

Though I wasn’t around in TotalFark for a long while, I still thought of Thai (and all the rest of my friends).  I am saddened, though, that I fell out of contact with him.  I wish his family and friends all the best.

I will miss you, my friend, and I will think of you when I see an alpaca!  Good-bye!

2 Responses to Mourning in the digital age–A Farker’s Farewell

  1. Christine says:

    My name is Christine and I am Thai’s wife. I just wanted to say that it has been so very comforting to me to see such wonderful things being said about Thai. I of course knew he was a wonderful man and very caring, and had such a magnetic personality, and as a result had a lot of friends. But I never knew he made an impact in peoples lives as much as this. It has been wonderful seeing comments like these. Thank you so much

  2. jwlashline says:

    Christine,

    Let me tell you, personally, how very sorry I am for your loss. Thai, as I knew him, was always there to help someone feel better. As I mentioned above, he made the daily grind all the easier for me.

    I am glad you got to find out how your husband impacted people he might not have really known. I am just sorry about the cost that was paid to gain such information!

    I could say you’re welcome for the comments, but, that doesn’t come close enough to how I feel. However, I am glad that you have found these types of comments out there, and I hope that they have helped you.

    Yours,
    John Ashline

Leave a Reply

