(More than) Half-way through NaNoWriMo

I said that I would write a blog concerning the constant work that is involved a writing project for NaNoWriMo.  Here it is, 18 days into the whole thing, and I must say it’s actually going very well.

As I might have mentioned in an earlier post, things were going rather more swimmingly than previous attempts.  I thank myself for doing a weeks worth of preparation before the big date.  That wasn’t something I did on either time I tried in the past.

Now I am working beyond my previous preperation, though.  It seems t me, though, that the whole process of writing is going much smoother.  It might just be me and the way I look at it, but it’s much easier writing on the fly; not following any sort of outline.

By now, my characters have their personalities set, and are forming relationships better than they would do in my head.  New characters are being introduced (still) into this story, and are finding that they are enjoying their lives.

It really is amazing what you can get down, and get across, writing only 1,667 words a day.  Just plunking myself down in front of the computer, and setting to it for an hour to an hour-and-a-half, can allow me to realize ideas as words.

I find myself working in many locations at home, though my favorite is the kitchen.  When it’s much too hectic to work on anything around the house, I steal away to campus with my sister.  The campus tech building, where her biology class takes place, has been quite a place of (quiet) discovery for me.  It’s one of my favorite places to work.

This, so far, has really been the most fun year that I have attempted NaNoWriMo.  It has been up and down, not doing any writing one day, then doing more work than is even needed in a one day period the next.  I can’t wait to see what comes next in my story, by way of unplanned things!

For those of you who have tried doing it, join NaNoWriMo next year!  Even if you only make it to 10,000 words, it’s a start!

One Response to (More than) Half-way through NaNoWriMo

  1. scar says:

    it’s v cool that they had over 21 thousand winners last year, wonder how many there’ll be this year

Leave a Reply

